Comrades in Arms Discussion Board

Full Version: FHQ Task Tracker (Obsolete)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Hola,


your work is highly appreciated, but dont overestimate our noobish editor-skills ;-).


The above mentioned demo mission does help a lot to understand how it is working. Once again Link: http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=19774


Greets


  Tony



(04-18-2013, 10:44 PM)Fat Tony link Wrote: [ -> ]dont overestimate our noobish editor-skills ;-).

That's why you should listen to the Pro's Wink
Awesome.

All my enemies and target objects are set. Waypoints for enemies set. Objective markers and gear dump for players set. Triggers set (though not all working how I want yet). I've got to set the conditions for "Mission Accomplished" and also make sure my heli extraction is working. But otherwise I'd say it is 90% done.

I need to play test it solo to make sure it is not completely imbalanced, but that is more play than work so . . . I just might have this thing done by Sunday. I realized in the course of some play testing today that, placing AI in the "best" locations to defend houses is not likely to create fun because of how awkward peeking around corners and grenade use is in the game. So I've put him in decent hiding places but tried to avoid making it too hard.

I seem to have squashed all the errors that the script checker spotted (use of parentheses and brackets is a real no-no in your briefing isn't it?).

However, when I Preview the mission, I don't get any briefing.

I've got all the files Phantom included in his "test_mission_simple_west.Desert_E" template folder, plus the task tracker code and the HousePatrol code (which is working fine):
briefing.html
briefing.sqf
description.ext
fhqtt.sqf
HousePatrol.sqf
init.sqf
mission.sqm
overview.html

However, when I preview the mission my briefing is not showing up for some reason. Probably a simple thing?

Code:
/* Briefing
* The briefing can be defined by calling FHQ_TT_addBriefing.
* The array is built like this.
* The first element should be a filter (side, group, faction, or a piece of script). All units matching the
* filter will see the briefing
* This is followed by pairs of strings, a head line, and an actual text.
* Briefings are added in the order in which they appear for any unit that matches
* the last filter.
*/
[
     west,
        ["Mission",
            "7 Dec 2014, 23:50: A squad of 11 Marine special operators call-sign Delta-7 will conduct direct action inside enemy
            controlled territory at the village of Nur. Objective is the destruction of four weapons caches which are suspected
            to be hidden in and around the buildings near the village center based on combined intelligence. Insertion 2.5km
            north-northeast of Nur by MH-60S will be at 23:30. Your squad can re-arm at a small air-dropped munitions cache,
            checkpoint Alpha, 700m west of Nur and from there reconnoiter the situation and execute the mission by
            whatever means are expedient. Following completion of the objective, you will move east-southeast to Checkpoint
            Bravo for extraction."],
            
        ["Situation",
            "As you know, the situation in Takistan has deteriorated rapidly since the assasination of President Karmbi last March.
            The Takiban now control most of the northern portion of the country and resistance to their spreading influence is weakening
            in the south. Recent HUMINT, partially confirmed by satellite reconnaisance indicates that a recent shipment of Russian weapons
            arrived yesterday in the village of Nur. Nur is a historical bastion of Takiban support and base of operations for Colonel
            Azzizz, the infamous Butcher of Bastam. Destruction of these munitions would achieve both a material and psychological
            impact that should weaken the Takiban's growing power."],
            
        ["Execution",
            "Based on human intelligence, we believe that the munitions have been separated into four separate caches hidden in and
            around buildings near the center of the village of Nur. As such your squad must include a detachment of two Demolitions
            Specialists equipped with at least three (3) explosive devices each. Because there may be more than four caches,
            equipping your squad with additional devices is recommended at your discretion.
            <br/>
            We suspect that a full platoon of Takiban irregulars are dug-in at Nur. However, the enemy is unlikely to have
            anticipated an attack this far inside of his controlled territory. As such, prepared defenses and heavy weapon
            emplacements are unlikely. Because your insertion site is 2.5km from Nur, it is unlikely that the enemy will be alerted
            to your presence in the area prior to your arrival on foot at Checkpoint Alpha. However, combined intelligence indicates
            that enemy patrols (both foot and mounted in technicals) extend up to 1km from the village center.
            <br/>
            Delta-7 has authorization to use unrestrained lethal force on any and all armed personnel in the area. However, unnecessary
            civilian casualties are to be avoided if at all possible.
            "],
            
        ["Allied forces",
            "As you know, we are already stretched very thin. The MH-60S which will provide insertion and extraction and the small
            munitions cache that will be airdropped at checkpoint Alpha just before you arrive is unfortunately the full extent
            of support available. You will be heavily outnumbered and assualting an enemy in a defensive posture inside a town
            loyal to the enemy. Azzizz has been engaged in vigorous recruitment, training and arms buildup in recent weeks. However,
            it is unlikely that the enemy is well-equipped, well-trained or disciplined."],
            
        ["Weather",
            "As of 22:30, the weather in north-central Takistan is overcast with moderate fog. Moreover,
            the forecast is for these unusual conditions to persist for at least the next 12 hours. It is even possible that
            Nur may see a bit of rain tonight!
            <br/>
            Despite being deep inside enemy territory and heavily outnumbered, with conditions on a night like this, Delta-7 is
            well-situated to exemplify our Force Recon motto:
            <br/>
            Celer, Silens, Mortalis
            Swift, Silent, Deadly
            "],
            
        ["Credits",
            "Mission by Anthropoid.<br/>"]
   
] call FHQ_TT_addBriefing;

[
    west,                                                           // Filter
        ["task1",                                        // Task name
         "Destroy Munitions",                Â       // Task text in briefing
         "Destroy Munitions",                            // Task title in briefing
         "Munitions Caches",                                            // Waypoint text
         getmarkerpos "m1"                                            // Optional: Position or object
                                                        // Optional: Initial state
        ],
         ["task2",                                        // Task name
         "Extract",                Â       // Task text in briefing
         "Extract",                            // Task title in briefing
         "Checkpoint Bravo",                                            // Waypoint text
         getmarkerpos "m3"                                            // Optional: Position or object
        ]
] call FHQ_TT_addTasks;

And yes! Varanon, your work is extremely appreciated!

It is just that: when you are new to coding and new to editing, that FFQTT.sqf looks like DEATH by syntax!  Tongue

Having deciphered how the basic briefings work, I came to the realization that, all that complexity in the FFQTT.sqf is (evidently) irrelevant for me finishing a mission at this stage. Apparently all I gotta do is plug in the content and let your app do the hard work for me! = Happy and Appreciate Noob.

-=-=-ADDIT-=-=-

I think I might have an idea why the Briefing isn't showing up -> Briefings don't show up with this setCaptive true on the player.
(04-19-2013, 04:24 AM)Anthropoid link Wrote: [ -> ]I think I might have an idea why the Briefing isn't showing up -> Briefings don't show up with this setCaptive true on the player.

Briefings do show on setCaptive players, however, they are no longer "west" but "civilian" (that's how setCaptive actually works).

I would suggest using a global variable with the group of the players, and use that instead of the "west" filter. Alternatively, if you only have the players as playable characters, just omit the filter altogether and have the tasks assigned to every playable character.
Okey dokey  Smile

-=-=-ADDIT-=-=-

When I change

west

to

global

In my briefing, the briefing is visible when I load as a civilian player. But I get an error that there is an undefined variable.
(04-19-2013, 02:21 PM)Anthropoid link Wrote: [ -> ]In my briefing, the briefing is visible when I load as a civilian player. But I get an error that there is an undefined variable.

global isn't a side... when I said "global variable" i meant a globally visible variable.

For example, add "MyPlayerGroup = group this;" to the init fields of all playable units, and then use "MyPlayerGroup instead of "west"
I can't get this to work on A2:CO, can you do an example mission for A2 please.

Never mind, that comma threw me off. :p

Ok now I can't get it to work for groups. What's the proper filter for groups? I had 'alphasquad' and a unit with 'alphasquad = group this' and it didnt get any tasks briefing.

ANd how do you add the task waypoint??

Ok, I mastered this now.
(04-19-2013, 10:23 PM)Varanon link Wrote: [ -> ]global isn't a side... when I said "global variable" i meant a globally visible variable.

For example, add "MyPlayerGroup = group this;" to the init fields of all playable units, and then use "MyPlayerGroup instead of "west"

Thank you Varanon. I'll use that as a good reason to learn more about variables Smile

Now that I understand what this is doing for me (saving me all those references to every player, etc., etc.) I'm really very thankful for it!

First mission is in final "alpha" form. Trying with Variables help to get it uploaded to the server so I can test it in SP mode.

Really appreciate all the help!
I'm using this as condition in an end trigger.

Quote:["task01","task02","task03"] call FHQ_TT_areTasksSuccessful
doesn't work.

Quote:["task01"] call FHQ_TT_isTaskSuccessful AND ["task02"] call FHQ_TT_isTaskSuccessful AND ["task03"] call FHQ_TT_isTaskSuccessful
works.

Quote:["task01","task02","task03"] call FHQ_TT_areTasksCompleted;
also doesn't work.
Thanks, Outlaws, i'll check it
I think this is what you told me I needed during mission the other nite? When player died and used AI body, the tasks were no longer visible. I assume this gets around that problem?
(05-20-2013, 02:19 AM)Lightspeed link Wrote: [ -> ]I think this is what you told me I needed during mission the other nite? When player died and used AI body, the tasks were no longer visible. I assume this gets around that problem?
Yes, that's the tracker Alwarren suggested. It will fix the problem.
(05-20-2013, 02:19 AM)Lightspeed link Wrote: [ -> ]I think this is what you told me I needed during mission the other nite? When player died and used AI body, the tasks were no longer visible. I assume this gets around that problem?

For a very easy to follow guide to how to implement this tool, (as well as handy templates) check out Phantom's mission site!

http://phantommissionsite.weebly.com/
Thanx to the great script from Varanon, the template from Phantom and the advice here, I've almost completed transition of Mission 1 to the new format.

Will be easy to copy/paste and update into the next 3 missions and onwards.

My splash screens are being updated now with Viper-1 in OperationTongueowderBurn.

Getting there....
How do I create a new marker and put it in a certain position when I add a new task using this script?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6