Comrades in Arms Discussion Board
How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Printable Version

+- Comrades in Arms Discussion Board (http://forum.ciahome.net)
+-- Forum: Comrades in Arms Life (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Mission Making (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) (/showthread.php?tid=2394)



How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Misha - 06-25-2013



I started to make my second mission. I have no time but I am making it slowly, no pressure.


Here is what I want to do. I wanna blow a building at certain point during the SP/MP mission. It is for a dramatic effect but also to advance mission story too. It has to happen during the right moment when player reach some point and is able to see it.


Now, how do I script buiding destructon? I would prefer to blow it by satchels but how do I make AI blow it? Or can it be done in some other way, it's not crucial what triggers the explosion but it is important that it looks like explosion (and destroys radar at Station Mike on Stratis).


Currently I spawn Ifrit 500 m above the radar to do the job, but I prefer less Monty Python-ish way to do it.   


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Phantom - 06-25-2013

Create an invisible H and call it something like bomb1 then....

Try making a trigger for example, if player is in a certain radius of the trigger or group. Put something in the activation like this

bomb = "M_Mo_82mm_AT_LG" createVehicle [(getPos bomb1 select 0),( getPos bomb1 select 1), 0];


R_60mm_HE works for explosions as well...

Too bad there's no big bombs for ARMA 3 yet so if you want a bigger explosion, I think you'll have to wait for beta if they introduce planes or tanks. Biggest bombs in ARMA 2 were the bombs from those A10s.


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Misha - 06-25-2013

Thanx Phantom, will try that. Also, hope beta will bring something bigger to make a bang.


I'll post again if there is a problem.


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Rund - 06-28-2013

Note that in A2 at least, the explosion multiplies with the number of explosives, so you could add that line a few times to add to the bang Smile


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Phantom - 06-29-2013

(06-28-2013, 10:51 PM)rundll.exe link Wrote: Note that in A2 at least, the explosion multiplies with the number of explosives, so you could add that line a few times to add to the bang Smile
I confirm that this works in ARMA 3 as well. You might want to make a few more invisible H around the other H's the make the explosion a bit thicker around if you want, but I do recommend stacking for a bigger bang.


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Misha - 06-29-2013

Will do. It works with satchels also?


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Phantom - 06-29-2013

I have doubts on satchels.


Re: How to blow a building (scripted or triggered) - Varanon - 06-30-2013

You can use nearestObject.

In  the mission eidtor, siwtch on ID's on the right side, and note the ID number of the building you want to blow up.

The trigger should then do "(nearestObject 1234) setDamage 1" (1234 is the ID of the building.